Monday, June 04, 2007

The CFDA Awards

Similar to what the Oscars are to the movie industry, the CFDA Awards are to the fashion industry. The Council of Fashion Designers of America will host its 25th annual awards ceremony at, no where else, but the New York Public Library. The library will be swarming with fashionistas in mesmerising designer frocks...can't wait to see what the night will bring both, in terms of winners and fashion.

The Nominees (my predictions in purple)

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award.
Oscar de la Renta, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year Award
Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown, Ralph Lauren, Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein

Accessory Designer of the Year Award
Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, Derek Lam

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Phillip Lim, Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Thakoon Panichgul

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Michael Bastian, Tim Hamilton, David Neville & Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Justin Giunta for Subversive, Jessie Randall for Loeffler Randall, Anna Sheffield for Bing Bang

Special Award Honorees

(First-Ever) American Fashion Legend Award
Ralph Lauren

Eugenia Sheppard Award
Robin Givhan, Fashion Editor, Washington Post

International Award
Pierre Cardin

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert Lee Morris

Eleanor Lambert Award
Patrick Demarchelier

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute
Bono & Ali Hewson of Edun

Image: CFDA 2004 Entrance -

No comments: